Stylised wall painting with Hebrew script: Love your neighbour, for he is like you.

Logo youtube    Logo Instagram

Select your language

|  Thursday 13th Jun 2024


The Arbeitskreis Landsynagoge Roth has received several awards for its efforts

  • 2003 Otto-Ubbelohde-Preis des Landkreises Marburg-Biedenkopf
  • 2005 Hessischer Denkmalschutzpreis
  • 2006 Förderpreis Hessische Heimatgeschichte des Landes Hessen


Presentation of the Hessian Homeland History Award of the State of Hesse 2006 by State Minister Udo Corts to the Chairwoman Gabriele C. Schmitt. On the left hand side the Head of the Hess. Landesamt für Denkmalpflege Prof. Gerd Weiß - Photo credits: Friedel Schultheis, Weimar-Roth

  • 2011 Landesehrenbrief von Hessen
  • 2011 Ehrenplakette des Landkreis Marbuirg-Biedenkopf

The long-time chair of the Arbeitskreis, Gabriele C. Schmitt, was honored for her valuable contributions twice in 2011 with a Letter of Commendation (Ehrenbrief) from the State of Hesse and with a Badge of Honor (Ehrenplakette) from the District of Marburg-Biedenkopf

Gabriele C. Schmitt as she receives the District of Marburg-Biedenkopf’s Badge of Honor from District Administrator Robert Fischbach at the ceremony celebrating the fifteenth anniversary of the Arbeitskreis in 2011. - Photo credits: Otto Weimar, Weimar-Roth

  • 2015 Jakobsmuschel des Arbeitskreises Dörfliche Kultur e.V. Kirchhain
  • 2023 Ehrenbrief des Landes Hessen

Oberhessische Presse from 27.11.2023

Letter of honour for two deserving Marburg residents
With great commitment to the Roth country synagogue and old fruit varieties


Mayor Nadine Bernshausen (second from left) presented Dr Annegret Wenz-Haubfleisch and Dr Norbert Clement (right) with a letter of honour from the state of Hesse for their many years of voluntary work.

MARBURG: Dr Annegret Wenz-Haubfleisch is committed to the preservation of the Roth country synagogue and the culture of remembrance for more than 25 years. Dr Norbert Clement is highly committed to the preservation of old fruit varieties. Both receive for their very different but very valuable voluntary commitment the Letter of Honour of the State of Hesse from the hands of the Mayor - Nadine Bernshausen.

"The social development that we have would often not be possible without voluntary work.
Volunteering covers all areas of life and is also incredibly complex and diverse in our town.
Countless people people are passionately committed to areas that are particularly close to their hearts,"  said Mayor Nadine Bernshausen. In Dr Annegret Wenz-Haubfleisch and Dr Norbert Clement, she was now able to present two Marburg residents with the honour from the state of Hesse, "who are committed to history, preservation and remembrance in very different ways and both of whom have made a very valuable years have made a very valuable contribution to our society".

Dr Annegret Wenz-Haubfleisch was a founding member of the working group of the
Roth country synagogue. She was chairwoman of the association from 1996 to 1998 and accompanied
the restoration of the Roth country synagogue. "Without her commitment, the former synagogue
former synagogue could not be used as a memorial site today," said Bernshausen. Wenz-Haubfleisch has been Chairwoman of the association since 2011.

The honouree organises exhibitions, establishes contacts and connections
with, for example, the Society for Christian-Jewish Co-operation, the State Working
and remembrance initiative on the Nazi era and the Muslim community in Marburg.
In 2013, she organised the initiative to lay stumbling blocks (Stolpersteine).She also wrote the commemorative brochure "Names and Fates".

Dr Norbert Clement is committed to the preservation of old fruit varieties like no other person.
He has been Chairman of the Marburg Orchard Friends Association since 2019
and was already chairman of the predecessor association "Association for the
promotion of historical fruit varieties in Görzhausen". Mayor Bernshausen said: "It is thanks to you
It is thanks to them that a cultural asset is preserved with old fruit varieties." Cle-
ment ensures that these varieties can be bred - which is also an important contribution
to overcoming the challenges of climate change.

We use cookies

We use cookies on our website. Some of them are essential for the operation of the site, while others help us to improve this site and the user experience (tracking cookies). You can decide for yourself whether you want to allow cookies or not. Please note that if you reject them, you may not be able to use all the functionalities of the site.